Start with a Pumpkin, End with a Pie

One of the joys of living on your own is getting to do all those little things you’ve always kind of wanted to, but for one reason or another couldn’t while at home. Like buy your own groceries, hang your bed from the ceiling, or walk around naked. With my new found freedom, I set out to answer a question I had often asked: If I had a pumpkin, could I make a pie?? The answer came to me quickly from the intertubes with a resounding YES! This is that journey…

The Pumpkin that would be Pie:

Pie Facts:

  1. Pie pumpkins are 6″-8″ in diameter
  2. The smaller the pumpkin the sweeter and less grainy the meat. Larger, jack-o-lantern pumpkins aren’t as sweet, so if making a pie with Halloween left overs you have to add sugar to the mixture.
  3. One pie pumpkin yeilds about the same as one canned pumpkin
  4. Canned pumpkin–with the exception of Libby’s–is usually made from butternut squash instead of pumpkn.

Making a pie from a pumpkin was one of the most enjoyable experiences I’ve had. The first step is the hardest: Cut the pumpkin in half….Have you seen a pumpkin…it’s hard and thick and all in all not conducive to halving.

After many failed attempts, dulled knives and cut fingers, I went with hack-saw. And that got the job done.

From there on out, it was smooth sailing. After scooping out the seeds and overall guts, I steamed the pumpkin halves to soften the meat and pureed it until smooth. What that gave me was equal to one can of pumpkin.

Once the puree was made, I seasoned and cooked it the same as the directions on the can of Libby’s. One pumpkin made roughly two pies. For one of those pies, I made a scratch crust with a fluted edge. The results!

2 thoughts on “Start with a Pumpkin, End with a Pie

  1. Cheryle

    Your food looks so good I can practically smell it through the computer! Can’t wait til one of those homemade pies shows up on our new dining room table!

Leave a Reply

