A Variation on a Similar Salmon

I’m not sure how many cute epigrams I can come up for this post. I mearley want to say that I tried this and it was way good. My mom is very good to us. I like to think that while she strolls through grocery stores she is reminded of her early married days eating up and down the family block and how much her family helped them out in the early years. I think it is these memories that compel her to buy, in bulk, frozen meat for us. We would be much hungrier if it were not for the pounds and pounds of boneless, skinless chicken breasts my mom has picked up for us while she was at Sam’s. One such gift was salmon steaks. I will admit that we went though the chicken a lot faster than we did the salmon.

Ryan found a great salmon recipe in which one breaded the steak with bread crumb, lemon juice and other various mixings. It was very very good and we made it at least twice.  We had two remaining salmon steaks and I was determined to cook them with something besides lemon. Thanks to Cooks.com, I did it! Marinated Barbecue Salmon.

Marinate the salmon steaks for at least half an hour. I made the marinade and had the steaks soaking when we got a call from Toby that Yazoo had crawfish, so my salmon soaked over night. Make the marinade from the following:

  • 1/4 c Soy Sauce

    Fixings
  • 1/4 c White Wine (sold in small bottles for the t-totaler cook or the more discrete wine-o)
  • 3 Tbsp Peanut Oil
  • 1 Tbsp Ginger
  • 1/4 c Teriyaki sauce (I had a jar of stir fry sauce, so that’s what I used. I’m frugal like that)
  • 1 Tbsp Sugar
  • 2 Cloves of Garlic
  • 1/4 tsp Onion Powder
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper.

After the steaks have marinated, put them on a baking sheet and broil 6″ from the coils for 5 mins, turn over, baste with the marinade and broil another 4/5 mins. Heaven’s to Betsy, it was delicious, juicy and tangy and savory. I am going to try this same marinade with chicken and see what happens with that. That’s all. It was good and should be tried my many people.

2 thoughts on “A Variation on a Similar Salmon

  1. Ah, this is great. I’m always trying to find new salmon recipes since I’m trying to eat more oily fish, and I’ve been getting the bulk salmon steaks from CostCo. I’m going to try this sometime soon and of course I will document my attempt.

Leave a Reply

