Lent Twenty-Ten

As is custom, Ryan is fasting from meat for the 40 days before Easter (April 4). I am going to do as best I can to abstain from meat with him but at the absolute very least our dinner meals together will be sans meat. This is quite the throwback to Ryan’s vegetarian days, but I am still having trouble coming up with non-meat meals. This is what I’ve come up with so far:

  • Red Beans and Rice
  • White Bean Soup
  • Vegetarian Pot Pie
  • Cheese Ravioli
  • Fish Sticks

 With my imagination, we won’t get through the first week of Lent. Any suggestions that don’t include Tofu? We’re hoping to stock up on greens (mustard, turnip and\or collard) tomorrow at the farmer’s market.  What’s a tasty way to cook greens without bacon fat? We also have garbanzo beans (leftovers from Ryan’s veggie only days) and I want to make hummus and pita pockets, but can’t think of anything besides slices of meat to put in. Any ideas?

The full story of our pre-lenten Valentine’s Day lasagna is on its way. I just need to finish editing and put in pictures this evening.

9 thoughts on “Lent Twenty-Ten

  1. Sasha Two Pistols

    One of my favorite pasta dishes contains no meat and it still leaves you satisfied. It contains: penne pasta, roma tomatoes, pine nuts, feta cheese and a little bit of olive oil to taste. Great when you put the feta on the just-ready pasta b/c it melts and creates its own little sauce. Oh and salt and pepper to taste.

    I also like to use this lemon vinaigrette dressing on ANY kind of pasta and its 1/3 cup of ex-virgin olive oil, 3 tablespoons of lemon juice (2 if too lemony for you), 1 clove garlic chopped or garlic powder will work, 1 teaspoon of parsley (flakes), salt and pepper to taste! I love this so much I put it on practically everything.

    Hope this helps!

  2. Cheryle

    Although Jason doesn’t go totally sans meat for lent, I do have to try to get creative on Fridays. I went shopping yesterday and here are a couple of things that maybe you haven’t thought about. One thing I picked up was mushrooms. You could do a veggie pizza with mushrooms, spinich, onions, etc or even veggie quesadias (I’m sure that is not spelled correctly). Also, is Ryan doing any seafood? What about tuna casserole (I shortcut with the Tuna helper but you can also mix tuna, cream of mushroom soup, and velveeta shells & cheese for a yummy version), or I picked up some frozen bay scallops at Kroger for $5.99. Not sure what I’m going to do with that yet but I am thinking some kind of pasta or stir fry. Anyway, that’s what is on my radar right now for lent (besides fish sticks). Hope it helps!

  3. Bridget (mom)

    Did you save the egg yolks from the Macaroon’s? Omletts or quiche is always good. I saw someone on TV make a quiche with grated zuchinni and monterey jack cheese. It sounded good. You have to squeeze the water out of the zuchinni after you grate it.

  4. Jaci

    I’m a little late to the party, but Moosewood Restaurant in Inthaca, NY serves all vegetarian fare and they post recipes on their website:
    http://www.moosewoodrestaurant.com/recipes_archive.html#60

    I bought one of their old cookbooks from Cottonwood Books awhile back. Good stuff. Granted, I didn’t realize at the time of my purchase that it was all vegetarian…

    Anyway, the Potato and Asparagus Hash and Spicy Mexican Squash Stew are very tasty.

Leave a Reply

