How About Some PAN ASIAN CUISINE!

After my marathon hummus clean up, I napped.

When I woke from this nap I set out to make Coconut Shrimp with a mustard sauce over fried rice. The end result was a bit disjointed, but with strong constituent parts.

I’ll start with the sauce because it’s the least involved. It was Dijon mustard, mayo, soy sauce, curry powder and lemon juice all mixed together and cut with milk. It was a powerful and robust sauce. It wasn’t spicy, but the mustard and curry gave it a definite kick. In hindsight, it was too heavy of a sauce for the light, sweet coconut shrimp, but on it’s own it’s a good sauce. If ever I do this shrimp again (which I don’t expect) I should use a thinner, sweet and sour sauce.

The shrimp. I should start by saying that I am getting along much better with my cast iron skillet after this adventure. In my Lenten shopping spree, I bought 5 pounds of gulf shrimp tails. This was our first pound. Ryan helped me peel and butterfly the shrimp. I told him they didn’t need to be butterflied, but he said it made them look nicer. The shrimp were covered in batter, dreged in coconut and then pan fried. This was the most interesting way to batter shrimp I’ve seen yet. It started with flour and salt like normal, then you add milk to make a doughy paste. Once the shrimp were coated in the paste, one by one they were covered in coconut (leftover from my macaroon puddles (see: Valentine’s Lasagna the Whole Story). In hindsight, I shouldhave cleaned off most of the batter and covered the shrimp sparingly

Me and my cast iron skillet getting along

with the coconut. The first few I put in the oil cooked too quick, the coconut burned before I could do anything about it. After turned the heat down it went much smoother. The only reason I say I don’t expect I’ll do this again is it’s level of involvement. It honestly wore me out. Plus I did not find that the shrimp added anything to to coconut. It was more like a medium on which to eat fried coconut. Tasty indeed, but just not worth a second round.

Coconut Shrimp

The fried rice. I found a good deal of fried rice recipes surfing the intertubes, but I ultimately went with the one in my Better Homes and Garden’s cookbook. Most recipes said to scramble and egg, put it to the side, cook the rest of the veggies and then add cooked rice and the egg back in and mix. I imagine this is the easy American way to do it. Better Homes and Gardens had

Sit until Set
And i'ts stuck
And it's stuck

a more involved method using two skillets. In a small skillet you pour a beaten egg. You let it sit until it is set. I’ve never made an omlette, but I imagine it is similar to that. To remove, place a baking sheet on top of the skillet, flip it upside down and voila the egg falls off on the sheet. Yeah right. How often do things happen as easily as they do in recipes? Or egg stuck and eventually Ryan had to scrape it out. It was cooked and we were still able to cut it into strips like the cookbook wanted us to, but it wasn’t as pretty.

In a larger skillet, sautee asparagus pieces, green onion and garlic. I substitued green peas because I didn’t have any asparagus. When the asparagus are crisp, add cooked rice and soy sauce. Add the pieces of egg only in the last few mins.

In typical Kelli fashion, the rice turned out too runny and weird tasting with the peas. However, the fried rice is the only part of this whole monstrous meal I want to make again. I am scouting new recipes, however, hoping for better results. Any fried rice suggestions?

Coconut Shrimp with Mustard Sauce over Fried Rice
2 thoughts on “How About Some PAN ASIAN CUISINE!

  1. Jaci

    This is the one I always use; it looks pretty similar to yours:
    1 egg
    splash of milk
    1 tablespoon butter
    1 tablespoon oil (I use either sesame oil or olive oil…I never seem to have vegetable oil in the house)
    1 small onion, chopped
    2 cups COLD cooked rice
    2 tablespoons soy sauce
    pepper, to taste
    1 cup cooked, chopped meat (I use whatever I have leftover in the fridge)
    1-2 cups cooked vegetables (I like broccoli, carrots, and water chestnuts)

    In a small bowl, beat egg with the splash of milk. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium low heat. Scramble egg, set aside.

    Heat oil in same skillet; add onion and saute until soft. Then add rice, soy sauce, pepper, meat, and veggies. Stir fry together for about 5 minutes. Break up egg with a fork; add to rice.

    I can’t cook rice at all. But now that I have my rice cooker…TA DA!

Leave a Reply

