Thank You Rachel Ray

The first meal I made intentionally vegetarian was Rachel Ray’s Parmesan Crusted Tilapia with black beans and cheesy zucchini and rice. Oh.My.Goodness it was oh so very delicious. I found the tilapia recipe on Pinterest.com . I’m sorry I didn’t take pictures, especially because it was so beautiful!, but at the time I wasn’t sure I’d be blogging again, so I just ate it.  Like I said, this is a Rachel Ray recipe, which means it is simple with few ingredients and delicious. This is my third or fourth Rachel Ray meal to cook and I find I like her recipes much more than her show! This is the original recipe, I halved it since it was just for me and Ryan. Here we go:

Rachel Ray’s Parmesan Crusted Tilapia

  • 3/4 c. fresh grated Parmesan
  • 2 t. paprika
  • 1 T. chopped parsley
  • 4 Tilapia fillets (1 pound total)
  • 1 lemon wedge
  1. In a shallow dish, combine cheese, paprika, parsley, salt and pepper.
  2. Drizzle fish with olive oil and dredge in cheese mixture.
  3. Place on foil-lined baking sheet and bake at 400 degrees 10-12 mins until “fish is opaque in thickest part”
  4. Serve with lemon wedge.
Super easy right? I learned a trick from another fish recipe I did. Before you drizzle the fish with oil, pat the fillet dry and lightly dust with corn starch. This gives it just a little bit of a crust and helps with the “fishy” flavor. I made black beans and cheesy rice to go with it. I cooked dry beans and just followed the directions on the back of the bag. Parboiling the beans, it took 3-4 hours total. The rice and zucchini I cooked separately. After draining the rice, I put it back in the pot and added the quartered steamed zucchini along with shredded cheddar cheese. Stirred it all up until the cheese was melted and we added a bit of salt at the table.
We’ve cooked some good stuff since this first meal, but 3 weeks or so in, and I still think this is my favorite. Certainly it was a great way to start off this whole food way of eating, it was so tasty!
Leave a Reply

