What Are You Reading This Year?

It dawned on me today that I’ve posted reviews of the books I’ve been reading, but haven’t publicized my 2013 Reading Resolutions. What’s the point of having a blog if not to publicize the most mundane details of my life??

In 2012 I used GoodReads.com‘s year goal app and set out to read 45 books. I ended up taking the summer off from reading and only read 29 books. However, some of the books I did read were quite substantial. I felt almost like I was cheating , counting A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Wide Window which took me two hours to read the same as Trinity which took almost a month. But it was great fun to have a goal and to have external motivation.

This year, I tweaked my resolutions. I vacillated between setting a number of books to read verses reading those specific books I wanted to challenge myself to read. I also wanted to gauge real accomplishment and growth,  not just get credit for reading so many short, easy books. My goals are such:

1. to read 30 books

2. of those 30, 11 specific titles

3. to read 10,000 pages

I am proud to say, I am right at the halfway mark for each of my goals. To date I’ve read 15 books, 5 of my specific books totaling 5,830 pages! And  I would like to say for the record that I am obsessed with the Stat tool on GoodReads! I’ve taken a week off between books here and there but for the most part I’ve kept up momentum reading. These are the specific books I am to read this year:

  1. Jane Eyre -Bronte **finished 3/9/13**
  2. Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix– Rowling **finished 07\4\13**
  3. Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince– Rowling
  4. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows– Rowling
  5. Frenchman’s Creek– DuMaurier
  6. Ella: Princess, Saint, Martyr– Warwick **finished 1\7\2013**
  7. An Uncommon Woman: The Empress Frederick– Pakula
  8. King Lear– Shakespeare **finished 07\7\13**
  9. In Chancery (book #2 of The Forsyte Saga)- Galsworthy
  10. The Two Towers (book #2 of The Lord of the Rings)-  Tolkien
  11. How to Read a Book– Adler
  12. Last Child in the Woods– Louv**finished 2/21/13**

How to Read a Book and Last Child in the Woods are both recommended by The Angelicum Academy for parents planning to home-school using the Classical Method (which we are). I began last year re-reading the Harry Potter series and wanted to make it a goal to finish. In Chancery and The Two Towers I added to propel me towards finishing their respective series in time. I added Ella and The Uncommon Woman because biographies are my favorite way to learn about history and I have become quite interested in the children and grandchildren of Queen Victoria. Frenchman’s Creek and Jane Eyre are on my list because both have been on my shelf for years needing to be read but always overlooked. Ryan jumped on the band wagon and added King Lear. Thanks dear.

You can see the books I’ve read thus far this year here and if you’re interested, the books I read last year here. After Christmas I’ll let you know if I was able to meet all my goals and if I’ll be setting new ones for next year. Currently, I am deciding between The Two Towers and In Chancery for my next read. Either way, I’m sure you’ll be hearing about it soon!

What are you reading?

5 thoughts on “What Are You Reading This Year?

  1. Pingback: Frenchman’s Creek | Being the Carruths

  2. Pingback: State of Wonder | Being the Carruths

  3. Pingback: To-Read List | Being the Carruths

  4. Pingback: The Chips are Down on 2013 | Being the Carruths

  5. Pingback: 2014 Reading Goal Completed | Being the Carruths

Leave a Reply

