Used and Rare: Travels in the Book World

Lawrence and Nancy Goldstone are my new favorite authors to geek over. A GoodReads recommendation led me to their book Out of the Flames which I’ve mentioned before and enjoyed. Surreptitiously, a facebook friend and middle school teacher recommended another of their books, Deconstructing Penguins. Ryan and I read the description and agreed it is one we would like to read. I chuckled when I noticed the authors. We still plan on reading Deconstructing Penguins (in connection with Mortimer J Adler’s How to Read a Book).  Before I dove into it though, I wanted to read Used and Rare, their self-proclaimed memoir, to get a sense of who they are.

I read all 215 pages in one day. That is no small feat when you consider how many small feet I have to run after all day. It was like sitting down with friends and listening to their story about a crazy vacation, as though you could see one say “oooh oooh let me tell this part” or “tell them about so and so, he was a real hoot”. Next thing I knew, the book was over. The story is written collaboratively and starts with their first $10 used book purchase through the next two years of dusty book shops, eccentric shop owners, book fairs and a $700 Dickens novel. It also offers some interesting insights into the world of book collecting.

This is a delightful read for anyone who enjoys books, but also for anyone who’s ever had a hobby go a little too far. I’m excited to read more from Lawrence and Nancy Goldstone and I think I’ll just have to pay a well overdue visit to our own favorite used and rare bookshop, Cottonwood Books

This book reminded me of:

Out of the Flames by Lawrence and Nancy Goldstone
The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafron
One thought on “Used and Rare: Travels in the Book World

  1. Hello,

    We are a not-for-profit educational organization, founded by Mortimer Adler and we have recently made an exciting discovery–three years after writing the wonderfully expanded third edition of How to Read a Book, Mortimer Adler and Charles Van Doren made a series of thirteen 14-minute videos–lively discussing the art of reading. The videos were produced by Encyclopaedia Britannica. For reasons unknown, sometime after their original publication, these videos were lost.

    Three hours with Mortimer Adler and Charles Van Doren, lively discussing the art of reading, on one DVD. A must for libraries and classroom teaching the art of reading.

    I cannot exaggerate how instructive these programs are–we are so sure that you will agree, if you are not completely satisfied, we will refund your donation.

    Please go here to see a clip and learn more:

    http://www.thegreatideas.org/HowToReadABook.htm

    ISBN: 978-1-61535-311-8

    Thank you,

    Max Weismann

Leave a Reply

