Consider the Fork

Goodreads Link

I have considered the fork and it is…interesting enough.  I came across this book in a back issue of Smithsonian magazine and it peaked my interest. The full title of this book is Consider the Fork: How Technology Transforms the Way We Cook and Eat.  Each chapter gives a brief history and cultural differences revolving around an element of eating or cooking — pots, fire, measuring, ice, forks etc.

I found the chapters on pots and measuring to be the most interesting. I consider boiling water such a basic cooking technique, I didn’t realize how much I took it for granted. How do you hold water before you can create clay vessels? Why would you put water over a fire it took you a long time to build? What material can transfer heat without breaking itself or contaminating the liquid inside? Is boiling even a good way to cook? Furthermore, did you know the US is one of the only countries to measure solid foods by volume? Did you know that’s a stupid way to measure solids?

Overall, I found the book to be interesting and well researched. My only complaint was that many of her points were overstated. She filled 30 pages with what could have been said much more succinctly. I’m sorry I don’t have much more to say about this book, I feel rather middle of the road about it.  This material could have been better presented in article form and length. Take for instance the article How the Chicken Conquered the World written by Jerry Adler and Andrew Lawler published in The Smithsonian Magazine June 2012, which to this day remains one of the most fascinating things I’ve read.

This book reminded me of Home Cooking in the Global Village by Richard Wilk

Goodreads Link
One thought on “Consider the Fork

  1. Pingback: Sweet and Sour Chicken | Being the Carruths

Leave a Reply

