Spinach Ricotta Lasagna

I found a recipe for Spinach and Ricotta Lasagna that looked delicious!  Lasagna is always a hit at our house, but I like saving it for special occasions (read: it’s a pain to make so I convinced Ryan I should only  make it like twice a year).  But when I saw this idea of using spinach, I was intrigued enough to buy ricotta. I pretty much followed her directions (after converting the measurements) with a few exceptions.

I already had a red sauce with meat and mushrooms made, so I skipped the onions, garlic, white pepper and can of red sauce from her recipe.  I also got to assembling my lasagna and realized I had Swiss cheese not Parmesan, but I was past the point of no return.

My filling, then, was spinach, Ricotta, Swiss and Parmesan cheeses, eggs and seasonings. As the routine goes, I lined the bottom of an 8×8 pan with a little bit of sauce. This keeps the noodles from sticking. I placed two ready bake lasagna noodles on top, then dolloped about half of my spinach filling; I topped again with noddles then the rest of the spinach filling. Two noodles on top, pour on the sauce and top with more shredded cheese and she was ready.  I baked it for about 45 minutes total at 350 degrees. With the no boil noodles, you have to cover the dish for 30 minutes then uncover for an additional 15 to 20 minutes. Cooking it covered traps in the moisture for the noodles to soak up and soften, cooking it uncovered for the last 15 minutes warms everything through and melts the cheese all gooey.

This was a hit! Only one piece remained as a leftover and it was eaten within about 12 hours. In fact, we dove into it so quick I forgot to take a picture until the next day when I was eating the very last piece. The spinach had great flavor that goes so well with the creamy white cheese filling. There were a few spots that had that soggy water flavor you sometimes get with cooked spinach, but I think next time I just need to dry the leaves a bit better before adding them in. Next special occasion, it looks like this will be our lasagna of choice. If I used a meatless sauce, this would also be a tasty vegetarian dish. Here are some other things I’ve done with red sauce, including how I make my sauce, and the Squash and Zucchini noodle Spaghetti we had a few weeks ago!

Spinach and Ricotta Lasagna
Spinach and Ricotta Lasagna
Leave a Reply

