Help Me Decide: Living Room Door

Regretfully the most public rooms in our house are the ones lacking the most decoration. My in-laws wonderfully painted the walls of the living room before we moved in and Ryan hung my curtains. But that’s where the decorating stopped. I’m not sure how long it will be before we can do some of the bigger projects I have in mind for the front of the house, but one thing I can do now is paint trim.

In true late 1980’s fashion, our house has wood trim. We are slowly making the transition to all white. Ryan and my dad worked tirelessly to replace all the baseboards and quarter round in the house, so all that’s left for me to do is paint the door ways. Needless to say, this simple task just hasn’t happened yet. Emboldened by my laundry room however, I’m ready to start working to get all the door ways painted.

Which brings me to the backdoor.

Back Door
Back Door

The backdoor is in the living room leading to the carport. It is solid wood with a lackluster medium dark stain. My original plan was to paint the whole thing and trim white. Like our front door:

Front Door: White door with White Trim

But now my heart doesn’t know what it wants. I want something that is fresh and clean, that’s the main purpose of painting in the first place. I like the look of color painted doors as well. I thought I could paint the door two shades darker than my grey walls with the same for the trim.  I was just about decided when one of my favorite bloggers, Sawdust and Embryos threw out this idea: dark stained wood with white trim. We have large, dark stain, wood beams on our cathedral ceilings. Sigh. So now I don’t know what I want. What do you like best? You can vote below

Door and Frame painted the same color?

Real Simple

White Frame with colored door?

Thrifty Decor Chick

Our my newest obsession, stained door with white frame:

Sawdust and Embryos

If I do something other than a white door with white trim, should I do the same with the front door? I don’t even want to talk about curtains yet!

One thought on “Help Me Decide: Living Room Door

  1. Pingback: The Living Room Progresses | Being the Carruths

Leave a Reply

