State of Wonder

I was first introduced to Ann Patchett a few years ago when I read, Bel Canto, by far one of the most beautifully written books I’ve read. I went back and read Patchett’s first novel, The Patron Saint of Liars and at that point, I was hooked on her story telling. Patchett creates such vivid settings and realistic characters, her stories come alive.

This is certainly true of her most recent novel, State of Wonder. Like Bel Canto, State of Wonder is set in South America, this time deep in the jungles of the Amazon. Dr, Marina Singh is forced into the jungles of Brazil in search of her co-worker who is reported dead after visiting the tribe their pharmaceutical company is researching. Dr. Singh must face the fears of the jungle and of her own memories to find out just what happened.

I’m not sure how else to put it but to say this was a weird book. The location and characters are vivid and believable; it is a plausible story, just a weird story. If you’re willing to suspend a little bit of disbelief, this is a truly well written and enjoyable story, tense until the last page.

I am now going on a fiction binge and trying to read through all those ” you should really read…” recommendations I’ve been getting.  Right now, I’m 3 books ahead of my goal.

Reminded me of:

The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver
The Orchid Thief by Susan Orlean

 

 

2 thoughts on “State of Wonder

  1. Maggie

    I absolutely loved The Patron Saint of Liars! And I enjoyed the Orchid Thief. And I’ve picked up the Quiet book numerous times during the summer but until you said something didn’t feel like buying for full price. Also, love your blog, love your family.

Leave a Reply

