2014 Reading List

I am decided and it is done. This year, on top of wanting to finish 35 books and 11,000 pages, I have 8 specific books I would like to read. These books were chosen to help bolster my knowledge of classic, Southern works. At this point I am hoping to have a respectable representation of acclaimed Southern writers in my repertoire. To fill in some pretty big gaps in this area, I’m setting out to read:

The Killer Angels by Michael Shaara
Gumbo Ya-Ya by Lyle Saxon
The Moviegoer by Walker Percy
All The King’s Men by Robert Penn Warren
The Adventures of Tom Sawyer by Mark Twain
A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams
Wise Blood by Flannery O’Connor
A Good Man Is Hard to Find by Flanner O’Connor

2014 To Read

I’ve already finished one book this year and I’m working my way through Wise Blood (although, I have to admit, I’m having a hard time really getting into it). But stick around, if I find anything good, I’ll be sure to let you know!

2 thoughts on “2014 Reading List

  1. Pingback: First Quarter Book Report — An Ode to the Audiobook | Being the Carruths

  2. Pingback: How The Reading Goes | Being the Carruths

Leave a Reply

