Cheese Straw Failure

I got an interesting coffee-table type book. It was fun to flip through a few times, but what stuck with me, was the recipe tucked in there for cheese straws — cheese dough, rolled in to noodle like straws and baked crisp. It seemed simple enough and nigh tasty. The only catch was that I had to wait for one of these bad boys to follow all the instructions.

009

Christmas brought me a cookie press and finally one January night, I had a free evening without kiddos underfoot to try it out. Could not have gone more wrong!! First I had some math problems with the flour, but that’s strictly my fault. The recipe calls for cheese, flour, butter, baking poweder, salt, red pepper and Tabasco. The dough was very very dry. I managed to get it to stick together for the most part, but it was faaaaaar to thick to go through a cookie press. Ultimately I rolled it up  then cut it as best as I could into slices.

006

012

015

I saw it all the way through, and baked them up. The flavor was ok, but, as expected, dry and crumbly. Not worth saving. The whole batch, minus two bites went into the trash 😦

All that said, I still really want to make cheese straws. I feel like it’s something I *need* to do now. Anyone have a tried and true recipie? Any suggestions or tips?

Leave a Reply

