Ground Beef “Gyros”

This has been on our menu twice now, making it a family hit! I love Greek and Lebanese food. But, like sushi, when the craving hits, it’s usually an expensive take-out bill. So when I came across this recipe, I knew we had to try.

I was delightfully surprised that I already had everything I needed to make both the meat and the Greek yogurt. The recipe makes a lot of yogurt. We must not eat as much of it as the writer’s family. It didn’t matter though, because we made it again less than a week later and used the same yogurt.

018

 

The only tweaking I’ve had to is with cooking the meat. The first time, I followed the recipe, cooked 4 patties on a grill pan over high heat. They cooked all the way through and got a tough exterior. Ryan said he like the burnt flavor. I think he thinks he was giving me a compliment, but it’s hard to take it that way! The second time, I made three bigger patties and cooked them over a lower heat. They were much more tender and hamburger like. There wasn’t really an outer shell. I liked it more, but Ryan wasn’t sold. Plus, using a skillet instead of a grill pan made the meat more greasy like.

019

But we will try again because either way it was so so tasty. The writer of the recipe suggests serving with shredded lettuce, onion and tomato. We prefer red onion and added hummus too. The girls even ate it up! Once I get the meat sorted out to our liking, it will be a very simple dish to make.

001

004

027

Leave a Reply

