St. Jude’s Give Thanks Walk

We didn’t make it very public but about 4 months ago, just after his first birthday, Reuben had a seizure in his bed. I opened his door, turned on the light and let his sisters in to wake him up from a nap. I heard them start a chant of “Benny wake up! Benny wake up!” as I walked to the laundry room to get him a clean change of clothes. I talked to Ryan for a few minutes before realizing that the girls were still chanting But I didn’t hear Reuben laughing. My heart dropped as I rushed to his room, knowing something wasn’t right.

He had a prolonged, a-typical seizure from an unknown cause. It took over half an hour for the seizure to stop, and even then, he remained  semi-conscience. In the ambulance ride to the hospital he seized again. It was at least 5 hours until he began to come around. I cannot describe the horror of seeing my child in such a state; I felt so helpless and scared as the doctors discussed CAT scans and Meningitis. All I could do was cradle my son and chant “Benny wake up. Benny wake up”

We are thankful every day that Reuben is still in fine health. All tests have been clear and he has gone almost 5 months without any further seizure activity. It is everyone’s hope that this was an isolated incident and will not affect his future health. At least that’s what the doctors say. As a parent, I don’t think I’ll ever get the images of that night out of my mind. I don’t think I will ever feel completely at ease again knowing how quickly something so serious can happen.

Since Reuben’s seizure, I have been more keen than ever to donate to children’s medical charities. I am thankful and relieved that our experience didn’t involve more than a single night of observation in a hospital. For many families, childhood sickness means so much more. A friend of mine from high school and college spent a few years working for St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital. She could not say enough good and positive things about the organization and facilities. I was struck by the sincerity of her stories and I have come to respect St. Jude a great deal. She has been trying for years to get me to participate in their Give Thanks Walk and I’ve always had a pregnancy \ baby \ reason not to. But not this year! I’ve started a team to walk and raise money and I’m so excited to finally be *doing* something worthwhile to help. I’m looking for people to join my team to help raise money and walk with me on November 22. It is at the BREC park on Highland starting at 9 am.


You can follow this link to join the team or donate!  http://walk.stjude.org/TeamCarruth

Your donations help keep treatment, travel, housing and food free for patients and families. The research done at St. Jude is freely shared to doctors and scientists worldwide.

Thank you to everyone who wants to help!

Leave a Reply

