2015 Reading Goal

I have enjoyed setting reading goals each year. As much as I love reading, having a goal in mind adds a little more fun. In the years past I’ve set increasingly more complicated goals. Number of books, page counts, generes and specific books. It is not bad, but this year I’m trying to simplify. I’ve set my book count list at 35 on Goodreads.com. As for the rest however, I want to sit back and follow my interests and see where I land at the end of the year. I also found this :

reading-challenge

At first I was all gung-ho to check off each one. Now that it’s March and I realize there are 50 categories, I’m just keeping a tally of the books I’ve read and which category they fit into. This list has pointed me in the direction of some books I may not have otherwise read, like Presepolis. And I’m glad for that.

I’ve read a random smattering of books so far ranging from Deep Dark Down: The Untold Stories of 33 Men Buried in a Chilean Mine to Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood and The Story of Return to The Princess Bride: S. Morganstern’s Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure, which is fun even the second time. I’ve nearly finished The Pillars of the Earth which I expect to throw me into a Middle-Ages reading binge.

I realize this is disappointingly short, but I am also working on posts of individual books and thoughts. They promise to be more interesting.

Leave a Reply

