Book Tag

Have you heard about this? I just stumbled across it. For someone who wants to be a blogger, I’m pretty out of the loop. Anyway, a book tag is a list of questions and prompts about books you’ve read. There are some that are more themed but I found this one that’s just straight forward fiction. It looks like fun and who knows, maybe some of you will want to read it!


Author you’ve read the most books from:

cc6ef39d0da1aa5f938d388f547bfc5aHands down Rex Stout. I’ve read nearly every Nero Wolfe mystery. There are a few left on the list and a few that are really hard to come by, but it’s got to be around 60 stories: short, novella and novel.

Next would be J.K. Rowling. I’ve read all the Harry Potters and all the Cormoran Strikes, so 10 books total. I read 50 pages of Casual Vacancy and put it down. But I think I should still get credit for those pages.

Best Sequel Ever:

Two Towers by J.R.R. Tolkien I guess. I liked it better than The Fellowship of the Ring. The Tolkien enthusiast might say it’s not really a sequel, but I’m not an enthusiast and to be honest, I haven’t read that many other series.

Currently Reading:

Funny you should ask, The Return of the King by J.R.R. Tolkien.

Drink of Choice While Reading:

Water. Disappointing, I know

E-reader or Physical Book?

Physical book. I need the sense of accomplishment that comes when there are more pages on the left side than the right.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

anton-yelchin-odd-thomas67-e1374441431596I’d like to think sweet, sensitive Daniel Sempere from The Shadow of the Wind (provided he could speak English) but more likely it’d be virginal Odd Thomas (series by Dean Koontz)

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

A Canticle for Liebowitz by Walter M. Miller Jr. To date my favorite sci-fi, post-apocalyptic story.

Hidden Gem Book:

The Good Thief’s Guide series by Chris Ewan. I picked it up on a whim from the library literally based on it’s cover and now they’re among my favorite books.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

When I stayed up all night to read A Matter of Honor by Jeffery Archer, when Evangeline by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow made me cry and when The Birds by Daphne Du Maurier scared the shit out of me.

Just Finished:

North to the Orient by Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Such a beautiful travel journal.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Slasher Thrillers. I like suspense and thrillers, but if it’s gory or over the top sensationalized, I won’t touch it.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

gone_with_the_wind_coverGone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell. The edition I have is 959 pages.  Again, the Tolkien enthusiast will say The Lord of the Rings books are really one book broken into three parts and in that case, when I finish The Return of the King, I’ll have read a 1,008 page “book.”

Major book hangover because of:

Everything is Illuminated by Jonathon Safran Foer. This applies to book and movie really. It took a few days to just take it all in.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Five and a half. Three in the master bedroom,  half a shelf in Ryan’s closet, one in the girls’ room and one in the living room. I want more in the living room.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier. I’ve read it about 5 times, I think. Once every other year since senior year in high school

Preferred Place To Read:

Somewhere cold with lots of cushions and blankets.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

From the poem Evangeline by Longfellow:

“Whispered  a gentle voice, in accents tender and saint-like,

‘Gabriel! O my beloved!” and died away into silence”

036

Reading Regret:

I regret not getting on the Harry Potter band-wagon when the books were being published. I read all the books before the final movie came out but I missed out on the experience of waiting with half the world for the next book.

Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):

Odd Thomas by Dean Koontz. I’ve read the first four and really like them. From what I understand the series is headed toward a great conclusion.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier

The Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling

The History of the Breast by Marilyn Yalom

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

f0efe-strikeCormoran Strike \ Robert Galbraith

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

The next Cormoran Strike!! Whenever that’ll be.

Worst Bookish Habit:

Checking out alllllllll the books by an author or pertaining to a subject from the library at the same time. I read one, the first chapter of another and return the whole lot.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

Cranford by Elizabeth Gaskell. This is one of the few fiction books we own that I haven’t read. I fully intend to, I just need a proper psyching-up to read Victorian England books.

Your latest book purchase:

Democracy Now! Twenty Years Covering the Movements Changing America by Amy Goodman. I’ve read the first chapter and I find it all very interesting. The problem I’m having with it is that it reads like a news report which can be dull after 5 or so pages.

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon


What about you? Could you answer each of these questions?

One thought on “Book Tag

  1. Author you’ve read the most books from:
    Would Lemony Snicket count? I read all 13 books a few summers ago.

    Best Sequel Ever:

    Currently Reading:

    The Visitors by Sally Beauman

    Drink of Choice While Reading:

    Red Wine. Apothic is currently my favorite.

    E-reader or Physical Book?

    Physical book. I also love the flexibility of an audiobook.

    Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

    I don’t know if I would have dated them, but I would have had a HUGE crush on Rhett Butler and Gilbert Blythe

    Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

    Snowflower and the Secret Fan

    Hidden Gem Book:

    I’m not quite sure!

    Important Moment in your Reading Life:

    Probably the time my mom called me to do the dishes, but I stood at the sink for 30 minutes because I was physically incapable of putting the book down.

    Just Finished:
    Be Our Guest: Perfecting the Art of Customer Service

    Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

    I can’t read books with too much gore. Detailed descriptions make me sick! Also, I really dislike love stories.

    Longest Book You’ve Read:
    I have the exact same answer as Kelli:
    Gone With The Wind by Margaret Mitchell. The edition I have is 959 pages. Again, the Tolkien enthusiast will say The Lord of the Rings books are really one book broken into three parts and in that case, when I finish The Return of the King, I’ll have read a 1,008 page “book.”

    Major book hangover because of:

    Room by Emma Donoghue. I regret reading this book.

    Number of Bookcases You Own:
    Only two very small ones. I don’t like to have many books on display. I prefer them to stay in a few boxes in the closet.

    One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

    The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield

    Preferred Place To Read:

    In the waiting room of Woman’s Hospital or in our guest bedroom.

    Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

    The first thing that came to mind was something Samwise Gamgee said at the beginning of The Fellowship of the Ring.

    “… I don’t rightly know what I want: but I have something to do before the end, and it lies ahead, not in the Shire. I must see it through, sir, if you understand me.”

    Also, the first page Rebecca always gives me goosebumps.

    “Last night I dreamt I went went to Manderley again”

    Reading Regret:

    Room by Emma Donoghue. It was terrible!

    Series You Started And Need To Finish(all books are out in series):
    LOTR

    Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

    The Thirteenth Tale is still my favorite.

    Unapologetic Fangirl For:

    Team Edward.

    Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

    Worst Bookish Habit:

    I tend to buy books and regret it because I can get them for free at the library!

    X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

    I’m not home. I would imagine that would be in the travel section so I’ll say The Pocket Louvre.

    Your latest book purchase:

    A Scanner Darkly

    ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

    The Two Towers, but I was at a birth. I’m not sure if that counts!

Leave a Reply

