Cooking for Six

1016137_10102309251508495_1177899700_n
Savage

As I sit down to plan out our menu and grocery list for this next week, I can’t help but notice that it’s pretty expensive to feed 6 people three times a day every day.  And I do mean 6 people. Reuben may be little but he can eat you under the table if he sets his mind to it, especially if black beans are involved.

Having full-appetited children has certainly changed what we cook. We haven’t had chicken cordon blu or handmade ravioli in, well, Evie is almost six so….. What hasn’t changed is how we cook. There are a few principles we try to stick to:

  • Whole Ingredients
  • Little or no processed food or mixes
  • Lots of Vegetables
  • Nutrient Dense

It sounds easy enough until you hit the grocery store. There are only so many rice and bean meals we can cook before we’re over it. Our own creativity only gets us so far before the grocery cash runs out. That’s why we have come to loooooooooove Budget Bytes. Beth, the creator of this site is a pure altruistic genius. This is how she introduces herself:

As a food lover and a number cruncher I’ve decided that cooking on a budget shouldn’t mean canned beans and ramen noodles night after night. This is my web log of good food cooked with little cash. My stomach is full and my wallet is too.

Don’t you want to hug her? I say thank you every time I print off one of her recipes.  We have a number of her recipes in our “go-to” stack and eat one of her meals at least once a week. Our favorites are her meat ball meals. They are so simple and filling. Filling has become a very important quality we look for in a meal.

ultimate-southwest-scrambled-eggs-vs

I’m adding the Ultimate Southwest Scrambled Eggs to try week! If you’re into this sort of thing, you can follow my pinterest board “Cooking“. I pin a lot of Budget Bytes and others that look healthy but not super expensive.  And hey, if you’re thinking “man, I want to buy something for those cool Carruths” The Budget Bytes cookbook is acceptable 😉

 

Leave a Reply

