Nothing Like That Second Hand

The majority of the books I own were bought second hand. There is a book store in town that’s a bit of an institution now, Cottonwoods and of course many websites. My go-to is Better World Books. In addition to new and used books, they “rescue” books discarded from libraries and donate profits to world literacy funds. Oh and they have free shipping.

img_20160925_152104-2

In my latest order from BWB (that’s what us cool kids call it), I ordered The Lottery and Other Stories by Shirley Jackson. After writing my last post, I decided to sit down and start readin. I opened the cover and found this gem.

15027640_10106482949030205_8722643113894070604_n

“The most horoble [sic] Book I’ve ever read”

[signature indecipherable]

The stories are meaningless and have no point”

It’s hard to know how to take this little insight from the previous owner. Should I dismiss it out of hand because he can’t spell? I’m no stellar speller, so that seems unfair. How many books has he read? It wouldn’t so bad for this to be the most horrible book he’s read if he’s only read 2 books and the other book was Canticle for Liebowitz. If he were a better editor, he wouldn’t have repeated himself calling the stories both meaningless and without point. Can his literary criticism really be trusted?

From the check marks he put on the Table of Contents, it appears he read 3 out of the 26 stories so I’m going to go ahead and say no. No, this man-boy’s warning will not deter my reading. But it does encourage me to keep buying books second hand — the personality is included for free!

What’s the best thing you’ve found in a second hand or library book?

One thought on “Nothing Like That Second Hand

Leave a Reply

